Police Department News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
To sign up for automatic notifications for Press News, please click here and enroll in e-notification.

El Cajon Police Department challenges drivers to ‘Silence’ the distraction

Post Date:04/11/2019

El Cajon Police to Conduct Distracted Driving Enforcement Details

Post Date: 04/11/2019 1:30 PM

April as Distracted Driving Awareness Month

TYPE OF INCIDENT: Distracted Driving Enforcement

DATE AND TIME OF INCIDENT: Throughout April 2019

LOCATION OF INCIDENT: El Cajon, California 


El Cajon Police Department challenges drivers to ‘Silence’ the distraction

April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month 

El Cajon, Calif. – April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month and the El Cajon Police Department will be joining law enforcement agencies statewide stopping drivers who violate California’s hands-free cell phone law. 

On April 8 and April 12, the El Cajon Police Department will have additional officers on patrol looking specifically for drivers on their phones. 

Last year, the El Cajon Police Department issued 182 citations to driver’s texting, calling or performing another function on their phone. Distracted driving is dangerous, especially when it involves a cell phone. According to preliminary data from the California Highway Patrol (CHP), 66 people were killed and more than 6,500 injured in 2017 from distracted driving-related crashes. 

“Cell phones remain one of the top distractions for drivers,” El Cajon Police Department Sgt. Paz reports. “Like any bad habit, it can be hard to break, but this habit can have life-altering consequences.” 

A 2018 observational survey by the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) on driver cell phone use found about 4.5 percent of drivers are still using their cell phone illegally, a nearly 27 percent increase from 2017. 

“That text or phone call will never be worth losing a life over,” said Sgt. Paz. “That is why curbing distracted driving is high on our priority list.” 

Under the most recent cell phone law that went into effect in 2017, drivers are prohibited from having a phone in their hand for any reason and can only use their phone in a hands-free manner. The phones must be mounted on the dashboard, windshield or center console, and can only be touched once with the swipe or tap of a finger to activate or deactivate a function. First-time offenders face a $162 fine.

If you need to make a call or text someone, pull over and park at a safe location. Struggling to stay off the phone while driving? Put your phone in a place you can’t reach, like the backseat or trunk. 

Funding for distracted driving enforcement operations are provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 


Lt. Stephen Kirk

Metropolitan Division

El Cajon Police Department


Sgt. Steve Paz

Traffic Unit

El Cajon Police Department

DATE/TIME: 04-11-18 @ 1:30 PM

Police Chief Jeff Davis

Return to full list >>