City Hall floors 2-6 are closed to the public at this time. However, staff continues to conduct business. Feel free to call us. 

Click HERE for more information and other COVID-19 updates.

Election Information

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The El Cajon City Council is comprised of five members, the Mayor and four Council Members, elected at-large, for four-year terms.

Municipal Elections are held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November of even-numbered years.

The City Clerk is the Elections Official, and is responsible for coordinating the Election with the San Diego County Registrar of Voters Office, as well as distributing nomination papers, processing ballot measures and petitions, and maintaining all campaign statements and conflict of interest filings required by the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC).

General Qualifications:

Candidates must be all of the following:

  • A U.S. Citizen
  • At least eighteen (18) years of age on or before Election day
  • A resident and registered voter in the City of El Cajon

Please call the City Clerk’s Office at (619) 441-1763 for more information.

Note: City Hall operates on a 9/80 schedule and is closed on alternate Fridays. Click here for City Hall hours showing the Fridays we are closed throughout the year.